Avoid These Foods At All Costs If You Have Celiac Disease

Foods To Avoid If You Have Celiac Disease

I really wish that guidelines for how to avoid gluten was just a simple matter of telling you that you need to stop eating rye, barley and wheat flour. Although that is part of what needs to be done, it is still a lot more complicated than just that. There are numerous sources of gluten that are hidden, and also some natural gluten-free foods that might be cross-contaminated with gluten.

Celiac Disease List of Foods To AvoidThe following are lists of additives, ingredients and foods to avoids. Make sure that you carefully study this list and refer to it frequently. You will eventually know all of these foods by heart.

Common Foods Containing Gluten

Wheat (along with anything that has the word wheat in it, like wheat flours, wheat bran, wheat starch, wheat germ, wheat berries and wheat grass; the only exception is buckwheat, which is fine)

  • Teriyaki sauce (check the ingredients – that are some with wheat)
  • Soy sauce (check the ingredients – there are some with wheat)
  • Rye (as well as anything that has the word rye in it)
  • Pasta (all varieties that are made from rye, barley, wheat starch, wheat or any of the other ingredients that are on this list)
  • Matzo (made out of wheat)
  • Malt (and anything having the word malt in it, like malt flavoring, malt extract or rice malt)
  • Blue cheese (sometimes is made out of bread mold)
  • Barley (along with anything that has the word barley in it, like barley malt)

Foods Additives And Less Common Foods Containing Gluten

  • Whole-meal flour
  • Udon (wheat noodles)
  • Abyssinian hard (wheat product)

Food Additives and Foods That Might Contain Gluten

If one of the following ingredients is contained in a favorite food and the label doesn’t say “gluten-free” on it, then get in touch with the company to ask questions. Depending on what their manufacturing process is, those questionable ingredients might be gluten-free at times.

  • Seasonings (including dustings and powdered flavorings on rice cakes, rice mixes, popcorn, nuts and chips)
  • Processed meats (canned meats, sausages, hot dogs and cold cuts containing stabilizers, gluten fillers, oats, rye, barley and wheat)
  • Processed cheese (check for ingredients)
  • Oats (look for gluten-free specifically)
  • Mustard powder (check ingredients; some brands might contain gluten)
  • Ground spices (sometimes wheat is added for preventing clumping)
  • Food out of grocery store bulk bins
  • Dried fruit (might be dusted with wheat)
  • Artificial color

Gluten-Free Shopping List – Brand Name Healthy Choices

It isn’t as challenging to shop for gluten-free food as it once was, thanks to the numerous celiac-safe products that are available now at stores. The following are some of my top favorites.

With the increased awareness regarding celiac disease also known as celiac sprue as well as other gluten-related conditions these days, there are now numerous healthy gluten-free products that are available in mainstream grocery stores (ten years ago it was a completely different story). The following are a collection of whole-grain, healthy staples for putting into your shopping cart

Grocery List for Celiac Disease

To control celiac disease, it is more about eliminating the foods that you shouldn’t eat instead of the foods you should eat. The foods on the list are thought to be safe for individuals with celiac. You need to check labels carefully on all foods that have an asterisk (*) because ingredients may vary from one brand to the next.

There is gluten contained in a majority of popular grains. That is why trying out safe, new whole grains is very important. You also need to eat lots of fruits and vegetables to ensure that you are getting a wide assortment of naturally occurring antioxidants, fiber, minerals and vitamins. I have listed ingredients and additives that are believed to be safe towards the end of this grocery list.